Mallacoota Open showing growth

Officials said this year’s Mallacoota golf Open was “enormous”, but filled with fun and laughter. 

The club welcomed players from north to Shell Harbour and Catalina as well as Sale and Lakes Entrance in the south to name a few as well as strong contributions from Eden, Bega and Bermagui. 

Officials said there was some afternoon breezes, but play was never threatened by rain across the full four days of competition. 

”It seems every year our tournament gets bigger and better,” a spokeswoman said. 

“The atmosphere in the Golf Club was truly amazing - it’s like a reunion, with the participants from both the north and south of us mixing so well.”

The opening and final day of competition were both mixed events, while ladies play ran on Friday and men’s events were held on Saturday. 

Officials said fantastic fields took on each of the events and carded some good scores on the course. 

The opening ladies stableford was won by Victoria Balfour and Glenda Graham with 46 points.

The winning men’s pair was Queenslander Peter Hegarty and Bermagui’s David Balmain with 47 points. 

On ladies day, Pambula-Merimbula featured in the gross results with Carlene Ramsay winning from Lynda Jolly. 

The nett favoured Tura’s Myriam van Hock over Lynda Plummer. 

Tura also featured in the silver salver with the team of van Hock, Plummer and Lorraine Arnaudon claiming the shield. 

Mick Venables took out the overall men’s stroke win with 74 from runner-up Darren Warne on 75. 

The nett result went to Mallacoota local Ollie Liedtke with 66.

The final day was the mixed 4BBB aggregate and the local pairing of Rae Howell and Tom Nolan took the prize with 77.

Runners-up were another Mallacoota pairing of Jayne and Bruce Gaudion with 73.

The spokeswoman said organisers were thrilled with the feedback. 

“We received some wonderful comments from the visitors regarding the beautiful condition of our course … and thanks go to the ground staff, who have done a splendid job,” she said. 

Officials thanked everyone who took part. 

Full Results:

Day 1.        4BBB Stableford : Men’s & Ladies :

Sponsored by: Bendigo Bank & Mallacoota Foreshore Holiday Park

Ladies Winners:        Victoria Balfour and Glenda Graham from Pambula/Merimbula with 46 spts.                                                       

Runners up:                 Judy Filmer (Bega) and Dianne Berryman with 44 spts. on a c/b     

3rd:                               Glenda Weeks and Liz McKay (Mallacoota) with 44 spts. on a c/b

NTP: A grade: 6th        -                         

          B grade: 14th     Pauline Hillyer - Mallacoota

          C grade: 3rd       -

Longest Drive:

            A grade:          Di Dickson (Lakes Entrance)

            B grade:          Jan Meares (Tathra)

            C grade:          Jacki Kilner (Palm Springs)


Men’s Winners:       Peter Hegarty (Qld.) and David Balmain (Bermagui) 47

Runners up:                 Rex Kermode and Eric Waterson (Tathra) 46

3rd:                              Doug Blair and Brian Jones (Bermagui) 45

NTP:    3rd        -           Ollie Leidtke (Mallacoota)

            6th        -           Jeffrey White (Jack Rabbit) (Yarram)

            14th      -           Tom Nolan (Mallacoota)

Longest Drive             A Grade:         -

                        B Grade:         Scott Williams (Shell Harbour)

                        C Grade:         Carl Crnic (Mallacoota)

Day 2: 

A Grade Gross winner:        Carlene Ramsay          84                    Pambula/Merimbula

Runner up:                              Lynda Jolly                 88                    Pambula/Merimbula

B Grade Gross winner:        Judy English               94                    Eden

Runner up:                              Barb Ubrihien             97                    Bega

C Grade Gross winner:        Diane Gray                 104                   Lakes Entrance

Runner up:                              Judy Auland              106                   Tathra

A Grade Nett Winner:          Myriam Van Hock      71                    Tura

Runner up:                              Lynda Plummer          72                    Tura

B Grade Nett Winner:          Jayne Gaudion                        73                    Mallacoota

Runner up:                              Sue Howland              74                    Tathra

C Grade Nett Winner:          Gillian Petersohn         74                    Bega    C/b

Runner up:                              Pam Bobbin                74                    Mallacoota

Tournament Champion:      Carlene Ramsay

Day 3: 

Men’s Day – Stroke:

Open Champion Gross          Mick Venables (Pambula/Merimbula                   74

Overall Nett Winner               Ollie Liedtke         (Mallacoota)                  66     

A Grade Runner up:              Darren Warne (Pambula/Merimbula           75

A Grade Nett Winner:           Ian Smith (Pambula/Merimbula)                75 c/b

B Grade Gross Winner          Gordon Symons   (Mallacoota)                  88

B Grade Gross Runner up:   Laurie Bilman (Bega)                                  89

B Grade Nett Winner:            Howard Filmer (Bega)                                69

C Grade Gross Winner:         Lee Cross (Bega)                                         95

C Grade Gross Runner up:   Gus Hummell (Bermagui)                           98

C Grade Nett Winner:           John Hillyer         (Mallacoota)                           70

Triple Golden Shot:      Ryan Westall (Pambula/Merimbula)          

NTP: 6th     Alan Roberts (Pambula/Merimbula)

NTP: 14th    Darren Warne (Pambula/Merimbula)

Longest Drive:

A Grade:    Kim Robinson (Pambula/Merimbula)

B Grade:    Nick Dunbar (Mallacoota)

C Grade:    Jeffrey White (Yarram/Mallacoota)

NAGA Award:  Scott Milstead   (Tathra)

Teams Event:      Lee Cross, Laurie Bilman and Howard Filmer. (Bega) 213.

Day 4: 

Day 4.        Sunday - Mixed 4BBB Aggregate – Sponsored by:

 Riviera Golf Bairnsdale:  (Don and Di Dickson)

Winners:              Rae Howell and Tom Nolan (Mallacoota)            77

Runners up:                   Jayne and Bruce Gaudion (Mallacoota)      73

3rd:                        Terri Owen and Gary Warren (Mallacoota)         71

4th                         Yetti and Peter Mitford-Burgess (Tathra)   68

NTP:           3rd      Howard Filmer (Bega)

                    6th      Jacki Kilner (Em/Lakes)

                   6th      Brian Mitchell (Mallacoota)

                   14th    Judy Shallard (Tathra)

                   14th    Tim Cashmore (Mallacoota)

                   14th    Duck, Duck wine winners:   Tim Cashmore and Judy Shallard.