Olga Masters Short Story Award entries open

Author Olga Masters

Author Olga Masters

The Olga Masters Short Story Competition will again be conducted in 2017.

The competition celebrates the life and writings of Olga Masters (1919-1986), Australian journalist and author, who lived in Pambula then Cobargo, until the age of 18. Much of her fiction is coloured by her experiences in this region.

This year’s competition is now open. It will close at midnight on August 18, 2017. Entry is open to Australian residents. The entry fee is $20.

Stories must be about any aspect of Australian rural family life, 2000-5000 words. First prize is $1500. There is a $500 prize for the runner-up. Supplementary prizes may be offered at the discretion of the organisers.

The winning story will be published in Island magazine.

This year’s judges are: Geordie Williamson, publisher of the Picador imprint; D’Arcy Randall, long-time editor of Olga Masters’ work; and Craig Munro, award-winning writer, editor and publishing consultant, and Olga Masters’ first publisher in Australia.

The inaugural Award was held in conjunction with the Olga Masters Festival in Cobargo in October 2014. All the details of the competition can be found on the website,  olgamastersshortstoryaward.com.au.


Discuss "Olga Masters Short Story Award entries open"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.